Thursday, July 9, 2020

Shiva's auspicious symbols

Shiva's auspicious symbols:

These 12 things are known as Bholenath

The auspicious signs or symbols of Lord Shiva are very important.  There is some secret hidden behind each of their auspicious symbols.  Apart from Aak flowers, bilvapatra, water, milk and sandalwood, he also loves many things.  Let's know 12 such things from which Lord Bholenath is known.

1. Shiva lingam: Shiva lingam signifies the nirguna and formless form of Lord Shiva.  It is also a symbol of Brahm, the soul and the universe.  According to the Vayu Purana, all the creation which gets absorbed in the holocaust and in the re-creation from which the universe appears is called Shivalinga.

2. Trishul(Trident): Lord Shiva always had a trident.  Trishul is also indicative of the destruction of 3 types of sufferings daily, divine, physical.  It has 3 types of powers- Sat, Raz and Tama.  The 3 prongs of the trident also represent the rise, preservation and sublimation of the world respectively.  According to Shaivism, Shiva is the ruler of these three roles.  It represents the Pashupati, animal and loop of Shaivite doctrine. It is believed that it is also a symbol of 3 times (present, past, future) of Mahakaleshwar.  Apart from this, it symbolizes the establishment of unity with the supreme position of the self, universe and power.  It is also a symbol of the stable Ida in the left part, Pingala in the south and Sushumna nadis located in the central .

3. Rudraksh: Rudraksha is believed to have originated from the tears of Shiva.  According to religious texts, there are evidences of having Rudraksha up to 21 mukhi, but currently after 14 Mukhi, all Rudraksha are inaccessible.  Wearing it provides positive energy, blood flow is also balanced.

4. Tripund Tilak: Lord Shiva places Tripund Tilak on the forehead.  It is a tilak with three long stripes.  It is a symbol of Trilokya and Triguna.  It is also a symbol of Satoguna, Rajoguna and Tapoguna. Tripunda is of two types - the first is a red dot between three stripes.  This point is a symbol of power.  The common man should not apply this kind of tripund.  The second one is Tilak or Tripunda with only three stripes. This causes the mind to concentrate.

5. Bhabhuta or Bhasma(Ash): Shiva applied ash on his body.  Bhasma makes sense of the futility of the world.  Bhasma is also a symbol of freedom from attraction, attachment etc.  The only place in the country that the Bhasma Aarti of Shiva is used in the Mahakal temple of Ujjain. In which the cremation incineration's ash is used. Yajna's ash has many Ayurvedic properties.  In the Holocaust, the entire world is destroyed, then only bhasma (ash) remains.  This condition is also of the our body.

6. Damru: All Hindu Goddess and Gods have one or the other musical instrument.  In the same way God had Damru, which symbolizes nad.  Lord Shiva is also considered the father of music.  Before him nobody knew how to dance, sing and play.
Naad means sound that continues continuously in the universe called 'เฅ'.  Other voices in music keep on coming and going, the central voice among them is the nad.

7. Kamandal: There is water in the kamandal which symbolizes nectar.  The kamandal is held by every saint or yogi.

8. Hasti charma and Vyaghra charma: Shiva is wearing Hasti skin and Vyaghra skin on his body.  Hasti means elephant and Vyaghra means tiger.  Elephant is symbol of pride and tiger is violence, so Shivji has suppressed both arrogance and violence.
The tiger is a symbol of power and entity and is the vehicle of the goddess of power.  Lord Shiva often sits on it or wears this skin, indicating that he is the master of power and above all power.

9. Shiva Kundal: There is a ears piercing ceremony in Hindus.  In the Shaiva, Shakta and Nath sect, it is customary to wear a mudra(coin)or kundal(earrings ) in it by piercing the ear at the time of initiation.  Ancient idols often see the serpent kundal in the ears of Shiva and Ganapati, the conch or patra kundal in the ears of Uma and other goddesses and the makara kundal in the ear of Vishnu. The two ear rings, which are worn by God, 'Alakshya' (meaning which cannot be shown by any medium) and Niranjan (meaning one who cannot be seen with mortal eyes). It is noteworthy that the kundal of Lord's left ear has been used by the female form and the coil of his right ear has been used by the male form.  Vibhutas in both ears represent the principle of creation in the form of Shiva and Shakti (man and woman).

10. Chandrama(Moon): Shiva also has a name 'Som'.  Som means Chandra.  Shiva's wearing of the chandra is also a symbol of mind control.  The chandra has direct connection with the Himalayan Mountains and the sea.  The first Jyotirlinga of the world was established by Chandra Dev at Somnath. Basically all the festivals and celebration of Shiva are based on Chandramas.  Shivaratri, Mahashivratri etc. have importance of lunar arts in festivals associated with Shiva.  It is a symbol of the cult of the semi-lunar Shaivists and Chandravanshis.

11. Jatas and Ganga: Shiva is the god of space.  His name is Vyomkesh, so sky is his Jata's form.  Jatas are a symbol of the atmosphere.  Air pervades the sky.  Above the solar system is the Parameshthi Mandala.  Its semantic element is named as Ganga, so Ganga flows in the jata of Shiva.
Shiva's Rudra form is considered to be a fierce and destructive form holder.  The practice of offering water to Shiva started due to the holding of the Ganges in Jata.
When an attempt was made to bring Ganga to the earth from heaven, it also raised the question that this immense velocity of the Ganges could cause a huge hole in the earth, then the Ganges would enter the earth.  In such a situation, Lord Shiva first seated Ganga in his jata for this solution and then landed it on the earth.  Gangotri Tirtha is a witness to this incident.

12. Vasuki and Nandi: Taurus is the vehicle of Shiva.  He is always with Shiva.  Taurus means dharma.  The Puranas have called dharma is a 4-legged creature.  Its 4 legs are religion , Artha, Kama and Moksha.  Mahadev rides this 4 legged Taurus i.e. Dharma, Artha, Kama and Moksha are under him.  According to one belief, Taurus is also called Nandi, one of the Ganas of Shiva.  Nandi was the author of Dharmashastra, Arthashastra, kamshastra and Mokshashastra. Similarly, Shiva had a close attachment to the Nagavanshis.  All the people of Naga dynasty resided in the Himalayas, the region of Shiva.  Anantnag of Kashmir was the stronghold of these Nagavanshis.  All the people of Naga clan followed Shaivism.

The name Nageshwar Jyotirlinga of Lord Shiva makes it clear that Shiva has an unbreakable relationship with the naga or serpent because of being the God of serpents.  There is a tradition of worship of serpents on Nagpanchami in India.  He who reconcile in opposing sentiments make a cruel and terrible creature like a serpants or snake use to garland his neck.  The wrapped serpent or serpent is a symbol of the power of the Kundalini.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please do not comment indecently, take care of the dignity of the language, do not give any spam link comment box.

Shiva and Chandra: Why did Lord Shiva place Chandra on his head.

Shiva and Chandra: Why did Lord Shiva place Chandra on his head. Lord Shiva is also called Shashidhar.  Shashi means moon and dhar means wea...

Blog's popular posts